Event Details
Date: 13 May 2018 - 16 May 2018

Location name: Jerusalem, Israel

Location address: Inbal Hotel, Liberty Bell Park, Ze'ev Jabotinsky Street 3, Jerusalem, 92145, Israel

Contact: Dan Knassim

Tel: +972 (0) 35 767 706

Click to view dynamic map
Report by Ophir Handzel, Director of the Cochlear Implant Center, Department of Otolaryngology Tel-Aviv-Souraksy Medical Center, Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel-Aviv University, Israel

The Mediterranean Society of Otology and Audiology (MSOA) founded in 1987, is an organisation that supports scientific activities and collaboration with a journal and a biannual meeting. The 16th International Meeting took place in Jerusalem with an international distinguished faculty and attendees from 36 countries including countries beyond the Mediterranean such as the USA, Canada, Australia, India, Kenya and Chile. The largest delegations outside of the hosting country were from France, Turkey and the USA. The opening ceremony was highlighted by a talk given by the Israeli Nobel Prize laureate Prof. Ada Yonath. The organising committee lead by Professor Ronen Perez the conference President included Professors Shupak, Kaplan and Sichel. The four-day comprehensive high leveled scientific program consisted of 21 plenary and key-note lectures, 22 panels and symposiums and more than 130 free papers and posters that were presented by physicians, audiologists and researchers from all over the globe. A wide variety of topics were covered including skull base, auditory and vestibular implants, vestibular basic and clinical issues, audiology, Eustachian tube, genetics, basic research and many more. The friendly atmosphere during the meeting encouraged the exchange of ideas and the creation of new friendships and scientific collaborations. The faculty and gala dinners and tours allowed participants and those accompanying them to enjoy a glimpse of Jerusalem, the fascinating city the conference took place at.

From right to left: Profs Daniel Kaplan (Scientific Secretary), Avi Shupak (General Secretary)  Jean Yves Sichel (Treasurer), Ronen Perez (Conference President), Armagan Incesulu (President of the MSOA) and Ophir Handzel (the reporter).