In a year with a whole new set of challenges for everyone, the BAA Award nominations show the continued difference people make to both patients' and colleagues’ lives. The BAA 2020 Award winners are as follows:


BAA Student of the Year (sponsored by Oticon) is Elizabeth Parker.   

Lisa Bayliss Award winner is Antonia Dolan.   

Jos Millar Shield is presented to Zena Butt. 

The Paul Doody Supervisor of the Year Award winner is Bethan Finnegan. 

BAA Paediatric Audiologist of the Year (sponsored by Phonak) is Jackie Harding.   

BAA Team of the Year was a hotly contested award, with an impressive shortlist of departments. There was a real strength of feeling in the nominations of how people feel their teams have risen to the challenge of 2020. The winning team received several nominations. The winners are Audiology Services, University Hospitals Birmingham. 

BAA Team of the Year, Audiology Services, University Hospitals, Birmingham.

And finally, we come to the BAA Audiologist of the Year award. The passion that went into the nominations received for the winner and what they achieved this year, meant there could only be one outcome. The 2020 BAA Audiologist of the Year is Jason Smalley.  

Congratulations to all the winners! 

A full report features in the BAA Winter magazine and online at


BAA Audiologist of the Year, Jason Smalley.