The Hallpike Prize was first awarded by the British Association of Audiovestibular Physicians (BAAP) in 2009, following the kind donation of Jeremy Hallpike, Emeritus Neurologist from Adelaide, Australia, in honour of his father Charles Skinner Hallpike, a key figure in the early days of the development of Audiovestibular Medicine as a specialty.

The prize is awarded annually for the best project of the past 24-month period (research, audit or review of subject) in the area of audiovestibular medicine. The project can be unpublished, published or be in form of a presentation or poster, but the prize committee must be able to assess its quality from the available information. This committee consists of the chairs of the education, audit and clinical standards BAAP subcommittees under the chairpersonship of the vice president of BAAP.

The successful candidate receives the prize certificate and a cheque for £300 which will be awarded at the March 2023 BAAP Annual Conference (or in exceptional circumstances at the October 2023 Hallpike Symposium) when the prize winner is expected to present his/her work.

The criteria on which the selection is based are:

  • Quality of project (50%)
  • Relevance to Audiovestibular Medicine (20%)
  • Relevance to clinical practice (10%)
  • Applicant’s history of research experience (20%) (the less experience, the better rating to encourage inexperienced applicants)

Applications should be received by the BAAP Honorary Secretary before 5pm, 6 January 2023. Those received later will be considered for the following year.

More details and an application form.